UCI Downhill World Cup Results Round 1. Pietermaritzburg, South Africa

Written by mtwmedia on . Posted in Blog, World Cup DH

Aussies place well but Minnaar is on top at home

Greg Minnaar has smashed it on home soil in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa to take the win with a time of 3:57.980 at the first round of the 2012 UCI downhill World Cup season.

His first split time was up on Gwin and during the second section, looked smooth throughout in front of the home crowd, to make up 0.632 on the previous time and take the win ahead of Aaron Gwin. (3:58.612) Congrats to Sick Mick (3:58.974) in third, now riding with new team Hutchinson United Ride Team. A very pleasing site after the dangerous crash he had in the Pietermaritzburg World Cup race in 2011. This made it a double podium for the Hannah family, with younger sister Tracey on top of the womens podium earlier in the day. Britain’s Gee Atherton made fourth (3:59.283) and Canadian Steve Smith narrowly snuck into 5th ahead of Jared Graves by as little as .052.

Big congrats to Graves, who has been focusing on downhill racing again, after the 4x event was dropped from the UCI circuit last year. His strong result today, in 6th, proves he hasn’t lost touch at all and we all look forward to seeing him up on the podium again, during the season.  The other Aussies placing well, Troy Brosnan riding for Team Monster Energy Specialized, in 8th, an impressive placing,  considering the course is suited to the bigger riders. He’s been training hard during the off season and his result today looks like it’s paid off. Sam Hill, coming back from injury last season and having a very competitive Aussie National Series at home, toughing it out with teammate Brosnan, just missed out on the top ten in 11th (+5.836 back). Bryn Atkinson, also on the comeback trail after the horrendous injury he suffered last year, breaking his arm and leg, sidelining him for the entire 2011 season, finished up a very respectable 20th. Also a big congrats to Bryn’s partner in crime, Jill Kintner who is racing on the DH circuit this year and finished in a strong 4th. A very positive start to the season for them and their new team Norco International.


Position Name Time Total Points Overall Standing
1 Greg Minnaar 3:57.980 250 1st
2 Aaron Gwin +0.632 200 2nd
3 Michael Hannah +0.994 160 3rd
4 Gee Atherton +1.303 150 4th
5 Steve Smith +4.384 140 5th
6 Jared Graves +4.436 111 6th
7 Andrew Neethling +4.800 107 8th
8 Troy Brosnan +5.017 107 7th
9 Julien Camellini +5.604 80 13th
10 Cedric Gracia +5.674 85 9th
11 Sam Hill +5.836 81 11th
12 Nick Beer +5.894 81 12th
13 Aurélien Giordanengo +6.064 85 10th
14 Neko Mulally +6.327 67 18th
15 Steve Peat +7.670 80 14th
16 Fabien Cousinie +7.674 65 19th
17 Justin Leov +8.579 69 16th
18 Marc Beaumont +8.874 73 15th
19 Brook Macdonald +9.036 62 21st
20 Brendan Fairclough +9.212 61 23rd
21 Josh Bryceland +9.396 68 17th
22 Rémi Thirion +10.307 59 25th
23 Thibat Ruffin +10.412 58 26th
24 Bryn Atkinson +10.657 64 20th

For all the highlights from Pietermaritzburg, go to Redbull.tv

Tweet Feed